The Wray Home Museum is open daily from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm.
Guided tours through the museum by Wray Home Docents are available throughout the day.
HISTORY OF THE WRAY HOME
The Wray Home was built by Floyd L. and Jane Wray on Long Key, a unique native hammock. Built in 1933, it is the oldest residence in Broward County west of University Drive. The Live Oaks surrounding the home are 150-200 years old and have an approximate life span of 500 years.
The building originally consisted of a kitchen, dining room which doubled as an office, a bath, and two bedrooms. Later a small living room was added. As time went on, the living room was enlarged, a sunroom was included, the original second bedroom was converted to a hallway and a new larger bedroom added.
The Wrays used the weekend home for relaxing and business. They often entertained business associates, civic groups and friends at picnics with food prepared in the BBQ kitchen separated from the home.
In 1975 the building became an Everglades Museum. At that time, the hallway became the current Exhibit Room.
The building was restored in 1991 to depict a typical South Florida country home of the 1930s. Wray Home today exhibits significant items connected with the Wrays and Flamingo Groves including family portraits, thank you letters from President and Mrs. Eisenhower for delivery of fruit to Key West and the White House, as well as other notable features of interest.